Our Affiliations

Bloomington Amateur Radio Club

Our fellow amateurs and neighbors.

Indiana Section ARRL Website
The goal of this web page is to provide information to all Indiana Amateur Radio Operators. The INARRL is the web page of the Indiana Section of the ARRL.
American Radio Relay League
The national association for AMATEUR RADIO ...
Amateur Radio Emergency Service
Consists of licensed amateurs who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment for communications duty...
Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service a protocol created by the FEMA and the FCC...

Owen County Hamfest August 27, 2016

NCS Schedule Updated July 17, 2016

Events Listing Updated March 20, 2013

Owen County Amateur Radio Association to Meet October 15th

Owen County Amateur Radio Association will meet October 15th in the Spencer Christian Church 157 S. Montgomery St. Spencer at 9:00 AM.
Items on the agenda include: election of a new club president, reports of the Owen County Hamfest, discussion of the Applebutter Festival, McCormicks Creek 10/5 K trail run and the Amateur Radio Parity Act.
The program will be a Simulated Emergency Test.
Many of the members have breakfast across the street at Chambers Restaurant beginning about 8:00 AM.
Everyone is cordially invited to attend.


The June meeting of the Owen County Amateur Radio Association included the election of officers. The new President is Arlene Bradbury, KD9FCP. The new Vice Present is Lanny Colgan KC9OWW. Remaining in office are treasurer Kati Smith, K9INU and Secretary Jim Baughn, K9EOH. See complete contact information of the officers at the bottom of this page.


Amateur Radio is a challenging high-tech hobby offering service to the community, life-long opportunities for learning and the excitement of communicating with other Amateur Radio operators around the world. Amateur radio operators today can explore many different communications modes, including all the more familiar methods of voice, computer and Morse communication as well as more exotic techniques involving Amateur Radio television, earth-satellite and moonbounce communications.
The Owen County Amateur Radio Association, founded in 1992, is a general interest radio club having over 20 members. Although membership is concentrated in the Owen County area, the club's members also come from many other areas in and around Owen County. While an Amateur Radio license is required for full voting membership in the club, unlicensed individuals are invited to join as associate members. The Owen County Amateur Radio Association is affiliated with the American Radio Relay League (ARRL), the national association of Amateur Radio operators.
MEETINGS are held on the third Saturday of every month at 9 AM at the Spencer Christian Church 157 Montgomery Street. Regular programs of interest to Amateur Radio operators follow short business meetings. Anyone with an interest in Amateur Radio is welcome to attend.
SERVICE ACTIVITIES include public safety communications for the annual Applebutter Festival Parade, the Friend's of McCormick's Creek 5K Run/Walk and other public activities.
The club also supports the Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service (RACES) for the county's Emergency Management Service, American Red Cross and the ARRL Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES).
WEEKLY NET Althogh is is the Owen County ARES net, and is conducted to drill members to prepare for providing emergency communications in natural disasters, any items of interest to radio amateurs whether contesting, dxing, rag chewing, digital communications, HF, VHF, UHF and satellite communications could be discussed. The two meter nets meet at 7:00PM local time on 146.895 MHz the first Wednesday of each month and on 146.985 on all other Wednesdays.
OTHER ACTIVITIES include an annual Field Day emergency communications exercise, annual training in Severe Weather Spotting, a hamfest (an Amateur Radio flea market), maintaining a repeater station serving amateurs in Owen and surrounding counties and conducting Amateur Radio licensing examinations.
For further information, contact any club officer listed below. To email, copy and past the e-mail address in your message. This is to prevent spam generators from grabbing the addresses.

Office Name
e-Mail Address
Call Address Telephone
President Arlene Bradbury
KD9FCP 8691 Keith Rd, Freedom, IN 47431 812-859-3572
Vice President Lanny Colgan
KC9OWW 711 Meadow Dr, Spencer, IN 47460 812-508-4004
Treasurer Kathryn Smith
K9INU 2961 Mangus Road, Poland 47868 812-829-2140
Secretary Jim Baughn
K9EOH 4300 Lennox Road, Poland 47868 812-828-9086
Webmaster Jim Baughn
K9EOH 4300 Lennox Road, Poland 47868 812-828-9086
Updated July 18, 2016
Design downloaded from free website templates.